Working At A Startup.

Working At A Startup.

Β·

6 min read

Hello Folks!!! Thanks a ton for showing up and I hope that you are doing the best that you could. It's been a ~month+ since I wrote at Hashnode and I feel it πŸ™‚ already.

In today's article, I will be riding you from the wilds of my experiences working at a startup as an intern for almost a month now.

As per my self-knowledge, I can put together that, I am an aspiring front-end web developer, HTML, CSS(SASS), JS, VueJS Mostly. I've been working on my craft since 6-7 months now ain't much of a tycoon yet, but yeah I can carry my crapπŸ˜….

And I worked as a Native Android Dev. Intern, Mostly Java At Cryptowale.com.

Yup you heard it right, the nightmare-ios android developer, I myself had no idea what I could do about Java Programming or any other thing that'll I'll be put onto. Wild rightπŸ˜‡ what could be scarier than working on a tech stack that you've got no idea/training about? (A lot could be, but let's assume nothing can be in this context)

p.s. java has got its own this keyword (IMO JS derived it from Java) you know and it scary when you see it coming frequently. With love to my fellow JS Friends.

Also, this article does not try to prove that I've become a wizard of some sorts at working out on random things, it's just a memoir of my experiences. I want to assert that I am as scared as I was on the first day of my job, It's been full of excitement too.

It's not the end of the talk yet, at the start of last month,

I started as a Native Android Developer. A few of the features that I had implemented are in the production application ready to be downloaded.

Then, was a WordPress Developer. Fired up cryptowale.com app website.

Then, caught up with a NodeJS, Express and MongoDB Backend.

And now, I am a Bitcoin Developer.

Frontend web development, long time no see. πŸ‘³β€β™‚οΈ

I had never seen or developed android code before this time, nor do I know/understand It till date, I suck at all of the above.

I chose where to be when I was given the opportunity.

I read plenty of code that I was presented with, I read hundreds of docs, I learned(or in the process) how to form a hypothesis, analogies and construct first principles to accomplish tasks. And to go out of bounds and accomplish a few. I learned to put together spec sheets that act as guides and could be followed roughly to accomplish tasks. I created a ton of git/GitHub mess, and figured out ways around a lot of them, yes git can be scary too.

All of this could be only possible due to the senior developer that I was working with, I remember day 5 at work And I had already asked 100+ questions. The level of patience that person put together was at another high, maybe that's how senior dev's roll. 😊

I assure you the right to feel, that it's a total waste of time for a frontend web developer to work on something outside their scope. But I don't feel wasted, I feel enlightened and a ton of other things.

Please take your decisions from the point of personal awareness, I have biases and circumstances of my own and my way, may not be your way and that's okay.

To be honest, I failed a ton (60% of times), but I accomplished certain things that I had set out for.

This was just a sneak peek into the matter. Stay tuned for my upcoming articles on VueJS, Software Development, Crypto Currencies(Specifically Bitcoin), etc. by subscribing to my newsletter.

If you are into Crypto Currencies I'll request you to check out cryptowale.com, also download the android application and share your precious feedback.

Thank you for reading till the end. You are a genius, never stop learning.